Monday - Saturday 8:00 am- 4:00 pm

About Us

About RCHD:

OUR MISSION: “The Ross County Health District Strives to improve the health and safety of our community through education, prevention, policy, and partnerships.”

HISTORY: The Ross County Health District was formed in 1979, when the Boards of Health of the Chillicothe City Health Department (1888) and the Ross County General Health District (1920) agreed to a merger. Even before the merger, the two health agencies usually shared one health commissioner and most of the time they shared office space and other resources. During the 20th century the health agencies occupied offices at various sites, including West Main St., West Second St., and later in the old Tuberculosis Hospital on Pohlman Rd., which had declined in use. In 1978 the agencies moved once again, this time locating their offices in the former Chillicothe Hospital on Chestnut St. They would remain there for another 20 years. In 1998, the Ross County Commissioners purchased the former Harts Department Store building at 475 Western Ave., for use as the Ross County Service Center. The combined Health District relocated offices to that facility in early 1999. In August of 2014, the health district purchased a building located at 150 East Second Street and relocated to that site.

GOVERNANCE: The Health District is governed by a seven-member Board of Health: four members are appointed by the District Advisory Council; three by the Mayor of Chillicothe. The Health District is made up of Three major divisions: Community Health, Environmental Health and Administration, which all contain a variety of programs. Currently, the health district employs about 34 people. Programs are divided into those that are mandated and those that are non-mandated. Mandated programs include public health nursing (TB case management, lead poisoning case management, immunizations, etc.); environmental health programs such as sewage treatment systems and food safety; and the Vital Statistics services of birth and death records. The health district also administers a number of grants. Financially, the health district is supported by a 1-mill, voter approved tax levy, and receives additional funding from fees charged and grants administered.

Ross County Board of Health:

The Ross County Board of Health is comprised of seven members: four are appointed by the District Advisory Council and three are appointed by the Mayor of Chillicothe (with the approval of City Council). Members serve alternating five-year terms and one board member must be a physician. Vacancies are filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Each year the Board of Health elects from its membership a President and a Vice President. Additionally, members serve on committees such as Finance, Ethics, and Environmental Review. The Ross County Board of Health meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month. Meetings are held in the Health District Conference Room (150 E. Second St., Chillicothe) and begin at 4:30 p.m. Finance Committee meetings and Board of Health meetings are open to the public. Any changes to the meeting schedule are posted on this website and are also advertised in the local media.

Current Board membership is as follows:
President: Dr. Sharon Stanley (DAC) term expires March 2022
Member: Dr. David McKell (City) term expires Dec. 2021
Member: Mrs. Jean Malone (DAC) term expires March 2019
Member: Mr. Charles Halm (City) term expires Dec. 2019
Member: Mr. Glen Thompson (DAC) term expires February 2022
Member: Mr. Ben Daughters (City) term expires February 2019
Member: Mrs. Dianna Gray (DAC) term expires March 2021

Health District Leadership Team:

Health Commissioner / Medical Director: Dr. Jeffrey C Hill, MD

Administrator: Ben Avery, RS, REHS has been with the health district since 2012, starting as a sanitarian and then Director of Environmental Health. Ben moved to the Administrator position at the beginning of 2017.

Director of Community Health: Kathy Wakefield is a Certified Nurse Practitioner and has been employed by the Health District since 1996. She is a graduate of Hocking College and Indiana University. She can be reached by calling 740-775-1146.

Director of Environmental Health: Logan Calhoun, RS, REHS is a Registered Sanitarian and has been employed by the Health District since 2010. He can be reached by calling 740-775-1158.

Director of Administration: Vonda Kern

Accreditation Coordinator: Kelly Dennis, R.S.

Public Information Officer: Susan Smith, MSN, RN, PHEP Coordinator

Past Ross County Health Officers and Health Commissioners

Chillicothe City Health Department Health Officers:  1888-1919: Dr. T.S. Barnes; Dr. J.D. Miller; Dr. A.P. Cole; Dr. E.F. Waddle; Dr. J.M. Hanley; Dr. F.M. Smallwood; Dr. Walter S. Scott; Dr. J.M. Hanley (served twice).

Ross County Health Commissioners:
G.E. Robbins, MD (1920-1927)
Raymond E. Bower, MD (1927-1951)
David B. Thornburgh, MD (1953)
Newman A. Dyer, MD (1954-1955)
Benton VanDyke Scott, MD, MPH (1955-1958)
Daniel G. Caudy, MD (1958-1965)
William E. Covert, DVM (1966-1978)
Lawrence T. Odland, MD, PhD, MPH (1978-1988)
Sharon Stanley, PhD, RN-C, MS, MA (1988-1994)
Jamie Orr Eselgroth, MHA (1995-2001)
Franklin Hirsch, MPH (2001-2003)
Timothy B. Angel, PhD, RS, CPM (2003-2016)
Donald L. Berling, MD (2017- 2017)
Jeffrey C. Hill, MD (2017- )